An Interview with Hyrum Joe: Sharing Stories, Knowledge, Experiences and Dreams Through Art

Our featured artist Hyrum Joe (Navajo/Southern Ute/Hopi/White Mountain Apache) was born in Farmington, New Mexico, and raised on the Navajo Reservation in Shiprock, New Mexico. In this interview, he talks about the beginnings of his art career, about what inspires and moves him and shares interesting stories from his art life with us.

Sarah-Maria Klose: How did you start your career as an artist?

Hyrum Joe: After taking the 101 Drawing course for dummies in college at 18, I actually gained some confidence in my drawing abilities from my Art Instructor and was encouraged to start doing small pencil drawings and showed them at a small art show in Albuquerque, NM.  I sold two!

Sarah-Maria Klose: Sounds like a great start! Does art “run in your family”?

Hyrum Joe: Yes. My father is a stone carver, painter, jeweler, musician and basically an all-around Art Scholar.  His father was a painter.  Mom’s side had rug weavers as well.

Sarah-Maria Klose: I see! And what artist or people inspired you to become an artist?

Hyrum Joe: As I mentioned, my father is an artist.  I was always fascinated at the idea that he could sell and support an entire family doing art.  Painters Howard Terpning, James Bama and Richard Schmid also impressed the hell out of me by their works.  I wanted to be on their level someday.  I’m working like hell to become better every day.

A_Navajo_Grandmother_s_Gift_to_her_Granddaughter-A_Turquoise_Squash_Blossom

Hyrum Joe: “A Navajo Grandmother’s Gift to her Granddaughter – A Turquoise Squash Blossom” (With permission from the artist)

Sarah-Maria Klose: Your artwork is really impressive and it is always exciting to see the artistic development in it. Who are some of your favorite artists?

Hyrum Joe: Howard Terpning, Richard Schmid, John Coleman, Ned Jacob, James Bama and John Singer Sargent. 

Sarah-Maria Klose: And who did you learn your profession from? Or was it self-taught?

Hyrum Joe: My college art instructor helped me develop my drawing abilities.  Mostly, I think it came natural but he was the one who shaped my skills and encouraged me to become better.

Sarah-Maria Klose: What materials do you work with?

Hyrum Joe: I predominantly work in oils.  I’m taking an aim at pursuing clay and bronze sculpture. 

Sarah-Maria Klose: And what are your working tools?

Hyrum Joe: The tools I use are horsehair brushes, a palette knife and my finger at times.

10609611_1486609728246197_7896721100670177636_n

Hyrum Joe at work (With permission from the artist)

Sarah-Maria Klose: Where do you usually work?

Hyrum Joe: I’m mostly in my studio finishing works but I also entertain the idea of painting landscapes on location, such as Monument Valley or Canyon De Chelly.

Sarah-Maria Klose: Do you listen to music when you are working? If so, what is your favorite music genre to get into a creative mood?

Hyrum Joe: Yes, I have to listen to music or podcasts when I work, otherwise my mind wonders off into other things too much.  It differs day to day.  If I’m needing a lot of motivation, it’s either Native rock bands such as Red Thunder or Xit.  Or I’ll put on some Eminem.  Mostly I’m fine with CCR, Aerosmith or Bob Dylan.  I listen to everything.  

Sarah-Maria Klose: What does your creative process look like and which techniques do you use?

Hyrum Joe: I start from rough preliminary sketch, then immediately start adding color tones. Then I paint until it starts looking like the image I want.  Detail comes last. 

Creational process

The creative process (With permission from the artist)

Sarah-Maria Klose: And how would you describe your own artistic style?

Hyrum Joe: My artistic style is probably classified as realistic impressionism.  Messy up close, but realistic from afar.

Sarah-Maria Klose: I see. And are there any themes that you are particularly interested in?

Hyrum Joe: For now it’s all Native themed.  My own people’s history inspires me.  But I plan to branch out and paint other cultures as well. 

Sarah-Maria Klose: Do you already have a fixed image in your mind when you sit down to start painting?

Hyrum Joe: Yes.  I do have ideas written in a sketchbook of future paintings I intend to create.  They are all derived from experiences I have going back to the reservation.

Sarah-Maria Klose: Where do you find inspiration for your paintings?

Hyrum Joe: My Navajo reservation.  Meeting new people, seeing new places, canyons, mountains, nature.  I’ve also painted my dreams.

55539983_2246936218880207_1923208770859565056_n

Hyrum Joe at work (With permission from the artist)

Sarah-Maria Klose: What is your goal as an artist?

Hyrum Joe: My main goal is to simply get better every day.  I also want to give my knowledge freely to those who are seriously interested in learning.  Also, to travel other countries and paint their cultures, if I’m allowed.

Sarah-Maria Klose: And what do you want to communicate with your art?

Hyrum Joe: I hope to communicate through my art the history of Navajo people.  To educate.  But to also share my views on life and experiences.  

The_Medicine_Man's_Granddaughter

Hyrum Joe: “The Medicine Man’s Granddaughter” (With permission from the artist)

Sarah-Maria Klose: Are there any artists or people who influenced you and your work?

Hyrum Joe: Tony Abeyta, Allan Houser, James King and my father. I felt like I could always draw fairly well.  But the above mentioned artists I looked to as mentors, helped profoundly.  Mostly, I think it was trial and error but my resilience to get better was my push.

Sarah-Maria Klose: What are you working on at the moment?

Hyrum Joe: I am currently working on a show for Blue Rain Gallery in Santa Fe, hopefully 8-10 new pieces!

Sarah-Maria Klose: What do you envision for the future of Native American art?

Hyrum Joe: Hopefully the Native art market will continue to be strong.  With Covid being a challenge to many artists, I foresee that the art still remains appealing to serious collectors and the Native artists thriving. 

83181102_2482171422023351_2363445345356087296_o

Hyrum Joe: “His Offering to the Navajo People of the Long Walk” (With permission from the artist)

Sarah-Maria Klose: Is there a special story or moment in your art career that you would like to share with us?

Hyrum Joe: Yeah, 12 years ago I watched my maternal grandmother (shi’ ma’saní) offer her corn pollen at a camping trip at Grand Canyon. She said the beautiful prayers and sprinkled corn pollen in the four directions. She gave me pollen and she taught me how to say the prayers. That moment inspired me to create my painting titled “His Offering to the Navajo People of the Long Walk”, as well as the thought of our Navajo ancestors who were taken away from their land and forced to make the historic Long Walk.

Sarah-Maria Klose: Thank you so much for sharing this story and for doing this interview with us!

Hyrum Joe: Thank you for the opportunity.  I’m glad to share with you a part of my art life.

If you would like to see more of Hyrum Joe’s thrilling artwork, please visit him on his Facebook art page: https://www.facebook.com/artofhyrumjoe/! 🙂

98204450_1419177981585862_5247592970693115904_n

Hyrum Joe (With permission from the artist)

 

Leave a comment